Outstanding Citizen Award

The Outstanding Citizen Award

Each year, we recognize an individual who is nominated by the community and selected by a committee to be the year’s Outstanding Citizen. The Outstanding Citizen award is a highly esteemed recognition given to someone in our community who exemplifies hometown pride through service and engagement. This is someone who devotes an extraordinary amount of their time to the betterment of Newton.

Once a nomination form is submitted, it is reviewed along with other nominations by the past 5 award recipients who select the winner. The nominee selected for the award will not be aware of their nomination, so that when they are announced at the Chamber Annual Banquet, it will be a pleasant surprise! The 2023 Annual Banquet will take place on September 21st at the Meridian Center.

Nominations for the 2023 Outstanding Citizen Award are now closed. If you know of someone who fits this description, we would love for you to nominate them for the Outstanding Citizen Award in the future! Nominations are typically open during the month of July. Check back here for more information about nominations for 2024 or contact Pam Stevens at pam@newtonchamberks.org.


2023 Outstanding Citizen – Daniels Heinze Jr.

Dan Heinze Jr., Vice President of Community Business at Conrade Insurance Group, was named 2023 Outstanding Citizen of the Year at the Newton Area Chamber of Commerce Annual Banquet on September 21st, 2023. To learn more about Dan, read the full blog post by clicking the button below. 

Past Award Recipients

Below is a list of everyone who has received an Outstanding Citizen award:

1985 – George J. Hannah

1986 – Millicent Claassen

1987 – Walter Claassen

1988 – Bradford Wells

1989 – Katherine Hanna

1990 – Arthur Delmez

1991 – Tom Walker

1992 – Phil Anderson

1993 – Lloyd Smith

1994 – Dick McCall

1995 – Max Graber

1996 – Frank Spangler

1997 – Ted Ice

1998 – Tom Adrian

1999 – Charles Koehn, Sr.

2000 – Chuck Waters

2001 – Ray Penner

2002 – Evelyn Gregg

2003 – John Robb

2004 – Merrill Raber

2005 – Sue Ice

2006 – Willis Heck

2007 – John Suderman

2008 – Christine Downey-Schmidt

2009 – Dewayne Pauls

2010 – Bill Hake

2011 – Virgil Penner

2012 – Steve Kelly

2013 – Nancy Craig

2014 – Ron Harder

2015 – Jim Nickel

2016 – Dr. Milton Claassen

2017 – Jessie Kaye

2018 – Tom Williams

2019 – Ron Lang

2021 – Desiree Martens

2022 – George A. “Chip” Westfall

2023 – Daniels Heinze Jr.